ASF_watermark_1920X645 ASF_watermark_1920X645

Songwriters on the Severn

Dates Available

Friday, September 15th




Upcoming Dates

No bookings available at this time.


Celebrate the Annapolis Songwriters Festival with a 2-hour live music cruise on the Severn River! Featuring performances by Young Fables, Striking Matches, and Thom and Coley.

The Young Fables

The Young Fables (TYF) create music with classic storytelling weaved into Americana roots music with pop sensibilities. East Tennessee (Maryville) natives, Laurel Wright and Wes Lunsford are influenced by timeless treasures like Patsy Cline, Bonnie Raitt, Glen Campbell and Chet Atkins. The duo’s unique sound has resonated with audiences around the globe as live performances have become stages from which The Young Fables discuss themes and topics typically saved for the therapy couch. Strong advocates for mental health awareness, The Young Fables are focused on helping to erase the stigmas surrounding the topic. Recognizing the duo’s advocacy, the pair were honored with The Troy Gentry Compassion Award in 2021 for compassion, commitment, kindness and love.

The couple has dropped 3 full length albums Two, Old Songs, and Pages (the latter two collaborations with GRAMMY® Award-winning producer Mitch Dane). Their sound – a whimsical, distinguishable classic country-meets-Americana pop blend – was praised by iconic artists and taste-makers alike, with nine-time GRAMMY® Award winning artist Sheryl Crow tweeting, “Laurel’s as good as any country singer out there!” Their releases opened the door for a Rolling Stone “10 Best Country and Americana Songs of the Week” nod, direct support for artists like Vince Gill, Amy Grant, and Rascal Flatts and an invitation from multi-platinum songstress Shania Twain to take part in the CBS showcase celebration Real Country. “Wes is a perfect partner for Laurel’s voice. I fell in love with these guys as a genuine, authentic talent and sound,” mused Twain, and Travis Tritt added, “Our industry needs (TYF) right now!”

2023 will see Wright and Lunsford releasing Short Stories, the band’s 4th studio effort, and their feature documentary ‘The Fable of a Song’, winner of the 2021 Nashville Film Festival Audience Choice Award. “Every album that we have released has become sort of journal entry for us and Short Stories is the next chapter.” Wright reveals. “We feel fortunate to have a space to share our music and are so grateful that our story seems to be helping others with their healing. That’s a reward unlike any other.”

Striking Matches

Through a series of circumstances that savors more of providence than of chance, Sarah Zimmermann and Justin Davis first met one another in a guitar seminar class at Nashville’s Belmont University in 2007. Paired randomly by the professor to “dual out” their first-day anxieties in a highly experimental (and therefore ill-advised) guitar battle, the two complete strangers rose to the challenge- upending every expectation in the process. Invigorated by the unexpectedly enjoyable conquest, Zimmermann and Davis became fast friends–jamming in the dorms and eventually playing local venues around the city of Nashville. Hard working and passionate, the newly established duo quickly found an eager and expectant audience for their music; and by combining their individual strengths, they were already well on their way to accomplishing something truly profound. Striking Matches grew naturally from the shared interests of two exceptional musicians.

Known for their prowess on their respective guitars, powerful individual lead vocals, and captivating harmonies, this duo boasts a rabid international fanbase and also happily appears regularly in their own back yard of Nashville, Tennessee at the historic Grand Ole Opry, and the Bluebird Cafe, among other venues. Their music is a fresh combination of country, blues, rock and americana, with an approach that respects the roots and traditions of established genres while making room for new and evolving musical thought.

Exploding onto the scene after 9 of their original songs were featured on the popular television drama Nashville, Striking Matches captivates audiences around the world with what Vince Gill dubbed their “high octane” showmanship. In addition to Nashville, Sarah and Justin have also had songs featured on Grey’s AnatomyAmerican IdolThe Secret: Dare to Dream (starring Katie Holmes and Josh Lucas), along with advertising campaigns for Fortune 500 brands such as General Electric.

Beyond their sync placements, Sarah and Justin have released numerous albums and EPs over the past decade, with their highly anticipated new album scheduled for release in early 2024. Sitting squarely at the intersection of consummate instrumentation and extraordinary storytelling, Striking Matches puts on a show that leaves audiences spellbound, and always eager for more.

Thom & Coley

Four Time Trop Rock Music Association Duo of the Year Thom Shepherd and Coley McCabe were both working for Nashville publishing companies in the same building when they met. Their first date was April Fools Day 2011 and by the end of that year they relocated to Austin, Texas, to begin a full-time touring career. They were married by “Elvis” in Las Vegas on October 23rd, 2015. Together they have garnered 10 TRMA awards includ- ing Female Vocalist and Songwriter of the Year. The couple currently lives in San Antonio, TX.

Their current album project is called “The Pelican” and features country-meets-the-beach Thom & Coley storytelling about their free spirited life on the road. Their music festival, the Lone Star Luau, is the two time TRMA Event of the Year and is happening at Margaritaville Resort in Montgomery, TX March 21-24, 2024

Coley is a platinum-selling songwriter who hails from West Virginia. She has performed numerous times on the Grand Ole Opry. While on RCA Records her song “Grow Young With You” was featured in the Natalie Portman / Ashley Judd film, “Where The Heart Is,” Her writing credits include the top 5 SheDaisy hit “Lucky 4 U.” She also starred in the feature film “Alabama Love Story.”

Thom is originally from St. Louis, MO, is the writer of two number one country songs, “Riding with Private Malone” and “Redneck Yacht Club,” three Texas Music number ones, “Beer Season,” “My Texas,” and “The Night Is Young,” has had over 100 songs recorded by other artists, two songs on Grammy nominated albums, and multiple top ten hits nationwide and in Texas. He appears in “The Parrot Heads Documentary” with Jimmy Buffett.

Preview their music here!